The Transition decade was launched at a mass public event in Melbourne Town Hall on Sunday 14 February 2010.

Launch speakers:

  • Professor David de Kretser, A.C, The Governor of Victoria
  • Rob Gell, Master of Ceremonies, National President of Greening Australia Ltd
  • Professor Will Steffen, Executive Director of the ANU Climate Institute
  • Professor Rob Adams AM, Director Design & Urban Environment, City of Melbourne
  • Senator Christine Milne, Deputy Leader of the Australian Greens
  • Uncle Bob Randall, Yankunytjatjara Elder and Traditional Owner of Uluru
  • Mark Ogge, Beyond Zero Emissions
  • Cam Walker, National Liaison Officer for Friends of the Earth Australia
  • Philip Sutton, Convener of The Climate Emergency Network
  • Giselle Wilkinson, President of the Sustainable Living Foundation
  • Kelly O'Shanassy, Chief Executive Environment Victoria
  • Dr Joe Herbertson AM, Safe Climate Australia

Dr Joe Herbertson, Safe Climate Australia, addresses a crowd of over 1000 people at the launch event at the Melbourne Town Hall. 

photos by Peter Campbell (creative commons license)